Texas Main Street

The national Main Street revitalization effort for historic downtowns was formed more than 30 years ago, and there has been a statewide Texas Program since that time operating through the Texas Historical Commission. The Texas Main Street Program (TMSP) is one of the oldest and largest in the nation, with 87 fully designated communities.

The mission of the TMSP is "to provide technical expertise, resources and support for Texas communities in the preservation and revitalization of historic downtowns and commercial neighborhood districts in accord with the National Main Street Four Point Approach® of organization, economic restructuring, design and promotion."  At the TMSP, staff work on a daily basis with our 87 designated communities to help them reach their revitalization and preservation goals through the framework of the Approach®. This methodology provides the necessary tools for local communities to effectively address the issues downtowns face.

The TMSP is part of the Community Heritage Development Division of the Texas Historical Commission and operates in affiliation with the National Main Street Center, a subsidiary of the National Trust for Historic Preservation. In 1981, following a pilot project of the national center that studied ways to address the decline of America's downtowns, the TMSP became one of the first six statewide coordinating programs in the nation.


Denton County CourthouseCongratulation to Beverly Short of Alvarado in Johnson County. She won a weekend getaway for two to Main Street Marshall in our Celebrate Main Street sweepstakes, commemoraing the 35th anniversary of the Texas Main Street Program. Have a great time experiencing all that the 16-year Main Street city has to offer, Beverly. Be sure to check back on this page in May to find out how you can win a weekend getaway to Main Street Denton.    


More About Texas Main Street Program



In 2016, Texas Main Street celebrates this anniversary

More Fast Facts

What's New

Texas First Lady Visits New Main Streets

Stillman House Museum in Brownsville

Join us celebrating our newest Main Sreet cities Brownsville, Corpus Christi, and Sherman in May as the Texas First Lady, Cecilia Abbott, visits the communities for Main Street celebrations! Sherman will take place on May 4 at 1 p.m., and Corpus Christi and Brownsville will kick off their festivities on May 6 at 11 a.m. and 2:30 p.m. respectively. Come out to help up welcome these great cities to the Texas Main Street Program! 

Become a Main Street Community

Application process now open

The application process for designation as a Texas Main Street community is now open. The deadline to apply is July 29, 2016. Each year, the Texas Historical Commission may accept up to five communities for designation and to receive Main Street services. More information and the application is available on the Becoming A Main Street Community section of this website.