Certified Local Government

The Certified Local Government (CLG) Program is a local, state, and federal government partnership for historic preservation. It is designed to help cities and counties develop high standards of preservation to protect a wide range of important historic properties—from ornate courthouses to working-class neighborhoods. Local governments that participate in the CLG Program act independently to develop and maintain a successful preservation program. The Texas Historical Commission administers the program at the state level and the National Park Service is the responsible federal agency.



Total Certified Local Government grant awards over last three years

More Fast Facts

What's New

The City of Hidalgo has been certified as Texas' 73rd CLG community!

Congratulations and welcome, Hidalgo! 


FY 2016 CLG Grant Application

A newer version of the FY 2016 grant application has been uploaded and is available here.  We're looking forward to reviewing your projects!